RSS

Adorable pictures of Corgi cross-bred dogs

11 Jun

The name Corgi literally means “dwarf dog” in Welsh.  Dwarfism is a dominant gene, therefore when crossing dwarf dogs, such as Corgi’s, with non-dwarf dogs, the gene takes over.  Here are some examples of what the results can be…

Corgi / Australian Shepherd

Corgi / Australian Cattle Dog

Corgi / Basset Hound

Corgi / Beagle

Corgi / Black Labrador

Corgi / Border Collie

Corgi / Chihuahua

Corgi / Chow Chow

Corgi / Dachshund

Corgi / Dalmation

Corgi / English Bulldog

Corgi / German Shepherd

Corgi / Golden Retriever

Corgi / Jack Russell

Corgi / Long Hair Dachshund

Corgi / Papillon

Corgi / Pomeranian

Corgi / Pug

Corgi / Sheltie

Corgi / Shiba Inu

Corgi / Siberian Husky

Corgi / Toy Poodle

Corgi / West Highland Terrier (Westie)

Corgi / Yorkshire Terrier (Yorkie)

A Doggie Bloggie has a new site!  Please come visit Motley Dogs!!!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2011 in Dog Blog, Photos

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Adorable pictures of Corgi cross-bred dogs

  1. Zolaikha Afzal

    July 11, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    WOW! That Corgi / Long Hair Dachshund mix looks exactly like my dog named Bear. I got him in February 2009 from Southern VA…any chance there’s a relation?

     
  2. Leo

    July 17, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    ITs like seeing Weenie size versions of bigger dogs I LOVE THIS!!! ButThat Basset hound Corgi mix is just a pic of Dachshund

     
  3. lalee

    August 16, 2011 at 9:28 am

    I have a bassett/lab that looks just like the corgi lab!! they are so cute!

     
  4. Matt

    August 19, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    That first pic is our Evie! I’d know that face anywhere. She doesn’t always look so dorky though. 🙂

     
    • She speaks....

      August 19, 2011 at 12:50 pm

      I think she looks ADORABLE! Which is why she’s first. And, perhaps, because I own two Aussies so I’m a bit partial to Aussies……… 🙂

       
  5. RobiniArt

    February 20, 2013 at 6:12 pm

    I love this! I just stumbled across it, looking for dog photos on WordPress. So cute!

     
  6. Monroe

    October 3, 2013 at 11:22 pm

    The name “Corgi” might mean “dwarf” but scientifically they are not dwarfs. The short-legged gene may be dominant, but it has nothing to do with dwarfism, only breeding.

     
    • Michelle

      October 4, 2013 at 10:43 am

      Short legs like this is a canine dwarfism. I do not mean to be rude here but my best friend who I share a house with is a professional breeder and show-person. She’s in her early 60’s and has showed dogs since she was a child. Been in the Westminster 3x. She knows her stuff. When she tells me that short legs like this is called dwarfism, I’m going to believe her.

       
  7. Hannah Petty

    November 14, 2015 at 10:52 pm

    I am just curious, is the name of that black lab mixed with corgi named Choco? Or did he used to be named Choco? I had to give him up in the Woodlands, and am really missing him these days.

    Thank you,

    Hannah Petty

     

Leave a comment